Lambert British U-21 Champ again for the 3rd time


Grant Henderson Tankers
British Under-21 Championship Final
Photo Credit: TazMcd Photography

1st Robert Lambert
2nd Zach Wajtknecht
3rd Jack Thomas
4th Tom Brennan

For the second season running, the Berwick Speedway club had the honour of running the British Under-21 Championship with the top 16 young riders in the UK in attendance, and with two-times U-21 champ Robert Lambert making his final bid for glory at this level, there weren't many betting against his hat-trick of gold medals.

They'd have been spot on the money too as he rocketed to a perfect six ride maximum to lift the title again.

Lambert duly scorched to a massive win in Heat Four over Zach Wajtknecht while he was joined up front on three by Tom Brennan of Eastbourne, Drew Kemp of Sheffield and Dan Bewley of Belle Vue.

Jack Thomas gated in third place in Heat Five, but hit the wide line to pass Ryan Kinsley and Nathan Greaves to lead and win well for three points, putting him on a total of five, while Heat Six saw Wajtknecht lead as Kemp and Anders Rowe battled well, Kemp taking second and totally five as well as Wajtknecht.

Brennan became the first to hit six taking an impressive win over Jack Smith before Lambert came out in Heat Eight against Bewley, Leon Flint and Kyle Bickley, the reigning champ winning well again ahead of Bewley who had a pre-race scare as his steel shoe became unattached, with Lambert moving on to six as well as Brennan, with four chasing on five points.

Lambert met Kemp in the ninth race, but again like the proverbial rocket, Lambert leapt out for the early lead to take another three points to move up to nine, with Kemp on seven, while Bewley took a great win in the 10th after a first bend battle with Greaves putting Bewley on eight points.

After three rides each it was Lambert leading in Nine points ahead of Bewley, Thomas, and Brennan on eight and Kemp on seven with each having two more qualification races to go before the semi final and grand final.

Wajtknecht rode well in the 13th to pass Smith but then had to fend of a chasing Bewley to the flag to keep his three points in a fine battle, while Lambert kept his charge at full power taking Heat 15 well over Greaves, who had to check behind him all the way as Brennan was getting closer throughout.

With Lambert on 12 and comfortably into the medal zone, with Thomas, Bewley and Kemp on 10 and Brennan on nine as well as Wajtknecht battling for the top spots.

Kemp, Bewley and Brennan were locked three abreast down the back straight of Heat 19 with Brennan easing ahead, but Bewley was on his tail all the way in a great race.

Lambert and Brennan went straight through to the final with Thomas, Bewley, Kemp and Wajtknecht compiling the semi, and in that semi final, Wajtknecht led early on with Kemp easing ahead of the chasing pack until Thomas took a wild run into the third bend on the third lap to shock Kemp completely as he was passed at speed putting Thomas and Wajtknecht into the final with Lambert and Brennan.

Lambert missed the gate for the first time all night as Wajtknecht flew from the tapes to lead, but coming off the fourth bend of the opening lap, Lambert hit the gas and powered up wide to take up the lead and win his third U-21 British title ahead of Wajtknecht in second and Thomas in the bronze position.

Individual Riders' Score Chart (programmed order)

Luke Harris 1, Anders Rowe 3, Tom Brennan 12, Leon Flint 7, Nathan Greaves 10, Drew Kemp 11, Jack Smith 7, Kyle Bickley 8, Jack Thomas 12, Jordan Palin 3, Harry McGurk 1, Dan Bewley 12, Ryan Kinsley 5, Zach Wajtknecht 11, Jason Edwards 2, Robert Lambert 15
Reserves: Luke Ruddick and Kieran Douglas did not ride